Chicks won't pip?

PoppysChickens

In the Brooder
Dec 30, 2016
Started with 15 eggs 26 days ago and they all did not pip most developed chicks but died. Put in 25 eggs from two different breeders 23 days ago and have had two of them that piped and hatched and doing well. One more did pip and died this morning. I have more 6 eggs left now that are alive after water candling but still won't pip humidity is fine at 70, I can't understand what has happened and why they won't pip they just all die one by one. I am using a little giant incubator that worked pretty good a couple of months ago but ordered a Genesis Hova 1588 yesterday maybe it's the incubator is too spiratic don't guess there is anything I can do for the 6 eggs left, sad :(

I think most of us that hatch a lot know how you feel. It's very discouraging to lose most of our eggs, especially when you know the chicks were alive up until the end.

Last year I had some of my worst hatches ever and I've been hatching for many years. There can be a lot of reasons for this to happen. In my case I discovered that the new turner I was using would jerk whenever it tried to turn. This can disrupt the nerve formation in the developing baby and they will fail to hatch. My husband took the turner apart and sanded the rough edges that were causing it to stick. The turner worked perfectly afterward.

Another thing that can affect hatching is the health of the parents. This time of year most breeders are coming out of molt and may not have fully recovered. Winter is not a natural time of year for birds to produce healthy chicks and if your birds are just getting layer mix the babies may not have all the vitamins and minerals need to hatch properly. I add vitamins to the bird's drinking water for a month before collecting eggs this time of year.

These are only a small part of the reasons for a bad hatch. I hope your next one is better.

By the way...........
welcome-byc.gif

Hope to hear from you again soon.

Last edited: