DAY 18 SMALL AIR CELLS PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by shelbylewis, Nov 14, 2018.

1. shelbylewis

shelbylewis Songster

Jun 3, 2018
    SJ New Jersey
    This is my first time hatching eggs. I had my humidity way too high for the beginning of incubation due to my incubator humidity percentage reading way lower than it actually was. It wasn’t until about day 12 that I realized the humidity was WAY too high. I quickly emptied the incubator of all water and it is now day 18. Air cells are still much smaller than I believe they should be on day 18 and I am just wondering if there is anything at all I can possibly do at this point. Also, has anyone had success in hatching eggs with smaller air cells? Praying these babies make it out okay! I’ll post pics of where I marked my air cells tonight.

Attached Files:

starri33 and MROO like this.
  2. shelbylewis

shelbylewis Songster

Jun 3, 2018
    SJ New Jersey
    please someone help :-(

MROO likes this.
  3. 007Sean

007Sean Enabler

Oct 25, 2015
    South Central Texas
    Have you candled them, do you see any movement? Those are pretty small air cells, alright but give them a chance they may do alright, just don't know until they start to pip. The last 3 days of incubation I'd only have the humidity around 40%. It's too late in the game to try and get enough moisture to evaporate from the eggs.
    I've had chicks hatch at 35% humidity, so give them a chance.

MROO, KikiLeigh02, JaeG and 3 others like this.
  4. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Crossing the Road

Jun 23, 2013
    The Big Island/Hawaii
  5. aart

aart Chicken Juggler!

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    3x 007 Sean....don't despair yet, they may be just fine.
    I'd remove all water until you get a pip, then bump up the humidity.

007Sean, MROO, KikiLeigh02 and 3 others like this.
  6. WVduckchick

WVduckchick For The Birds!

Feb 9, 2015
    West Virginia
    My Coop
    Agree with the others.