Day 30: Write a review for a chance to win free feed. *To be eligible, you must post between May 31

Purina

Official BYC Sponsor
Official BYC Sponsor
5 Years
Nov 11, 2014
Write a review about the Oyster Strong
2122.png
System product you used during the challenge for a chance to win free Purina® poultry feed.

Purina Layena Review
My chickens have been eating Purina Layena Food for 4 weeks. As I am a retired Science teacher, I am used to using the Scientific Method as a guide for any tests made. First I tested to see which the hens would prefer as far as taste. I compared the food to Southern Supply food which is a little cheaper . In order to figure out if they preferred the taste of one or the other, I placed a dish of each for the chickens to taste and decided to count the number of times the chickens ate from each dish in 10 minutes. This was inconclusive. Due to the pecking order, when one chicken of higher rank ate from one dish, the others went to the opposite dish. Several times the head chicken went to the other dish, and the other’s with lower ranks, traded places. It appeared that most of the time, the chicken would eat what was in close proximity, rather than taste each dish.
So as my chickens showed that they did not have discriminating tastes, I tried to see if the food made any difference in the egg quality. During the month, I got 3 huge eggs that were double yolkers, which was unusual. One measured 3 inches long, and 6 ½ inches in circumference at the largest point! Also, the eggs were heavier than normal which I attributed to heavier shells. The yolks were a beautiful bright orange-yellow. Out of 10 chickens, I began getting an average of 8 eggs a day. This increased from a normal 6-7. I also noticed that previously I was getting a few eggs a week that had rough shells. After using Purina, the shells are nice and smooth.