Duck lost companion

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jduke, Jul 18, 2019.

1. jduke

jduke Chirping

May 1, 2016
    St. Louis, MO
    One of my two ducks was killed this evening by a raccoon that pinned it down. I'm at a loss with what to do with my other duck. I don't want to get rid of her but everything I've read suggests that I get another duck for her. I don't even know where to begin finding an adult female pekin duck.

I have her inside with me tonight and she's at least eating and drinking but I feel horrible for her that she's lost her best friend of 4 years. I got them as babies. I honestly don't know what to think right now and any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

quackiemama and Miss Lydia like this.
  2. Ducklover77

Ducklover77 Songster

Jun 14, 2019
    Florida
    Oh my goodness I just wanted to say how sorry I am about your baby. My heart breaks for you and your Pekin you have me in tears this morning I'm new to the duck world so I can't be of help but I do know she will need another friend :hit

3. Daphne_loves_mealworms

Daphne_loves_mealworms Crowing

May 13, 2018
    Vermont
    I’m so sorry to hear about your duck! I would say that the first order of business would be to fortify their pen to prevent a repeat attack, then absolutely get a couple of companions for your remaining hen.

I would vote for two friends rather than one to prevent another lonely duck in the future if one were to pass away.

Unless you have a strong preference for Pekins, the new duck or ducks can be a different breed. Just make sure to do a slow introduction (in separate pens where they can see, but not touch, each other until they seem decently tolerant of each other). It would be ideal to quarantine any newcomers if your remaining hen can hold on alone for a bit while that occurs.