Ducks healthy in winter? Help!

morganurban

In the Brooder
May 30, 2018
Ohio
Winter is still a few months away, but this is my first time having ducks during the cold months. I live in Ohio, the coldest it gets is about -5° on bad days. Is it safe to keep my ducks outside in their coop/run? Should I change their diet? Any tips? I have just the two ducks and want to make sure they’re safe and healthy through the cold months.

Corn is fine for over night heat. Just don't over do. It can make them fat, but in winter having a few extra calories is good. Other than that just feeding a good balanced feed and making sure they have plenty of water I use heated buckets here since the water can freeze pretty quick. Also give them options of going inside their coop if they want.

Mine do not get food or water inside though ice skating can happen over night. With the water that ends up on the floor.

Make sure they have deep dry bedding to sleep in. I definitely pile in the straw in the duck house deeper in the winter.

Make sure they have a good wind block. At my house the prevailing winds come from a different direction in winter than summer, so just be conscious of where your wind comes from and that your birds have a place that is sheltered from it.

Make sure they have thawed water. This can be done in any number of ways, but basically, check on them a few times a day and bring fresh water if needed. I've had the heat element go out in a heated waterer before, or the birds tip over and spill the entire waterer somehow. I definitely check on them a bit more often in winter just to be sure.

Ducks do quite well in the cold. I live in a cold climate where it can freeze any night of the year and my ducks fare better than my chickens. I wish I'd started with ducks, I might not have even gotten chickens (not that I don't love the little buggers).