EE rooster....right??--UPDATED, yes, definitely a rooster :)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Woofless, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Woofless

Woofless Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2010
    SD
    So far out of 27 chickens (8-11 weeks old) , I have 2 who were pretty easy to peg as roosters as they developed roo traits early. One is a brownish EE the same age as this one and he was pretty obviously roo at 7-8 weeks.

This one was slower to develop but his comb is getting redder & redder every day...and I think those are pointed saddle feathers coming in...?

Still, I'm new to chickens so I wanted to see if I had guessed right....I think I've got a rooster perched on my ankle, what do you all think? [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 27, 2010
  2. CalebtheChicken

CalebtheChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 5, 2010
    Jeremiah, Ky.
    Where's his tail???
    I think it's a roo.

3. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    Yep, that's a boy [​IMG]

ETA that for future reference, that color is almost always male in EEs. [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 23, 2010
  4. Woofless

Woofless Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2010
    SD
    Shelley- Oh noo...don't tell me that...LOL....I have 2 more EE's almost the same color (one has more black and a big bushy black beard) who are so far looking more like hens. I hope they stay that way....3 roosters is plenty!!

See the one in the background behind him? That's one I've been calling "Lavender"....(s)he is almost the same color but her black is a diluted bluish gray. Would that be more indicative of a female? She (hopefully) is so pretty....I'm really hoping she's a hen!!

Caleb, not sure where his tail is!! I have a few tailless EE's. LOL maybe the tail fairy will bring it one day & leave it under his perch or something....what's a rooster without a big pretty tail? [​IMG]

5. MikasGirl

MikasGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2009
    Coos Bay, OR