Eeek! pip help **She hatched**

GlitterKitty

Songster
10 Years
Nov 21, 2009
Alrighty so today I was gone all day and when I came home two bantam eggs have pipped. The shell part is broken but it doesn't have a complete hole. Idk if they quit or they are jsut starting but Im really freaking out adn wondering if I should help??!!! This is my first time and they are under broodies. Please help, are they quitters? Should I go back out there and see there progress? I picked them up to see how far they were along candling and noticed they felt kinda runny liek there was waster inside and then i saw the pip so I put it back down./

PLease help!

Last edited by a moderator:
If they just pipped this afternoon, and they're under their mama, i would just leave them and their mama alone and check on them tomorrow. You will likely have two new babies by tomorrow afternoon.

Okay
smile.png
This morning when I checked there was no pip, than I come home now at 9:30 and theres a teeny pip. Im just worried because what if they quit? I only have two right now but there was another bantam egg...so maybe these just started pipping and the other one will later? Omg I hope there okay
hmm.png

Well, as much as i know you want to go monitor them every moment, the very best thing you can do is leave them alone for a while.
wink.png

I have very very very very rarely had a chick quit after pipping, and i have seen quite a few natural hatches this year.

Hope you'll post pics tomorrow.

When I hatch my Silkies, they make a little dented area first, then rest, make a hole where the dent was, rest more, zip, and then HATCH! I hope that helps ease your worries! Good luck with the hatch!

Thanks! How long did that take? I think I'll probaly be up all night runnning out there
tongue.png
Or maybe I should wait till morning to ahve a surprise?? But then again I'm a late sleeper and who knows what my crazy big hens will do
idunno.gif