Gramcracker's coop.

Pics

jeria

Songster
May 5, 2017
Independence MO
This gramma is building a coop--some grandson's call me Gramcracker-- silly but fun. No one is helping until the grandsons help me with the roof, no way can I lift 4x12 sheets of plywood and metal roofing. Also they will help with the roof framing as that's rather difficult for one person. It will be for 4 chickens with the possibility of adding a couple more down the road as egg production decreases. Per zoning regs 6 hens is the limit.

The wall and floor frames have been built over the past several weeks, slow thanks to getting bronchitis and overtime at work. The coop is 4x6 it will be enclosed in an 8x10 run with a solid roof over all. It is my own design (tweaked as I have learned more on here) and I have no building experience and limited tools. If I can do this anyone can.

Here is progress on assembly today: Not perfect but I keep telling myself it is a chicken coop. IMG_0479.JPG IMG_0481.JPG IMG_0484.JPG IMG_0486.JPG

Tomorrow is start on the siding.

IMG_0524.JPG IMG_0525.JPG IMG_0526.JPG IMG_0527.JPG

This is my high intensity workout for this am. YAY!! The frame is on top of the coop!!! Taking a break before I straighten it out and anchor it down. Not a perfect fit but the chickens won't care. Finishing it and some tall and climbing plants next year and it will hide the crooked places. :celebrate:wee:woot

Attachments

• IMG_0524.JPG
    IMG_0524.JPG
    882.3 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_0526.JPG
    IMG_0526.JPG
    759.6 KB · Views: 14
I know all about the humidity. Have to take lots of breaks and go in to cool off. Sweat just pours off my face. This coop build is exciting, though! Got my skylight made from shower doors installed and caulked now!View attachment 1111040

What a cool use of materials!! Looking good! I was soaked yesterday, my hair dripping when I took my ball cap off, my jeans and my shirt also soaked. Hoping not so many breaks today with no pounding in supports.