Horses

I have a question for all of you horse owners. I am a beginner, am getting some basic lessons on how to care for, groom, ride for pleasure - nothing more than some basic trail riding lessons. I've wanted a horse my entire life. I finally have the time, the space needed, etc to do it. I'm not sure when I will be ready/feel comfortable enough to purchase one of my own but when I do I wonder...would it be better for me (as a beginner) to get a gelding who is trained and has the experience, or would it not be such a bad idea to get a colt so that I could train it and grow with it as a rider? This way it would know my commands from the start. I've been doing a lot of thinking about this and I wonder what are the pros and cons for a beginner like myself to own a colt vs a gelding who's a little older and already been trained a certain way.

Since you are a first time horse owner you need a horse who is trained in what you want to do. Geldings have a tendency to be more consistent in their temperament. Some mares are moody and unpredictable due to hormonal changes. By colt do you mean a youngster who needs training or an intact male who will grow into a stallion? Definitely stay away from a stallion.

Young horses need a person to teach them manners so they can get along with humans. If you are set on getting a young horse make sure to get a trainer to help you along the way. The most important thing you can remember about horses is the moment you touch your horse you are teaching it something, and you need to make sure that something is good. Young horses are unpredictable. They have regressions that test your patience, and you need to have the knowledge to avoid a wreck.

If you want to get out on the trail and not have to worry about spooks, horse eating monsters, and generally baby sitting your horse, I recommend you get a well trained gelding.