MotherCluckingHenHouse

In the Brooder
Jul 24, 2020
I have been researching genetics of Lavender and Cuckoo for about 6 months now. I have finally started incubating and hatching eggs from my Cuckoo Orpington and now that the chicks are here I am not seeing any defined spots like I do on my legbar cross.

Backstory: My hen was bred from a cuckoo Orpington rooster over a lavender Orpington hen. She shows the cuckoo pattern in black but has lavender recessive genes.

I am breeding her to my Lavender Orpington rooster and noticed one that has a somewhat darker head. When I look up lavender cuckoo online I see the chicks have a white spot on their head. Is this just an issue because it is 1st generation? I know the head spot on this pairing would indicate a cockerel just don’t know what it should look like.

Any guidance from those who have gone this path to create Lavender Cuckoo Orpingtons?

My hen and rooster
02E7EC10-5209-4240-A497-E347B00B321F.jpeg
6FFA588A-391E-441E-B899-BAB85D0E07FA.jpeg
Chick on the far right hatched from her egg. This is the one I am questioning as suspected cockerel

Chick below hatched from her egg and appears solid so I’m thinking pullet with recessive cuckoo genes
41A7C147-55F7-43E8-A176-DB0DA1FB3C0C.jpeg
96B7E02E-4729-454D-8824-1367E528AD64.jpeg

I have been researching genetics of Lavender and Cuckoo for about 6 months now. I have finally started incubating and hatching eggs from my Cuckoo Orpington and now that the chicks are here I am not seeing any defined spots like I do on my legbar cross.

Backstory: My hen was bred from a cuckoo Orpington rooster over a lavender Orpington hen. She shows the cuckoo pattern in black but has lavender recessive genes.