Question on Farm Inovators Still Air Incubator Model 2100

chopmayer

Hatching
6 Years
Aug 13, 2013
Upstate New York
Hello. This is my first time hatching chicken eggs. I bought a Farm Inovators Still Air Incubator Model 2100 and although the temp has constantly fluctuated with this thing, I got lucky and out of 29 eggs I started with, I have 25 that seem to have chicks in them. I'm up to day 20 and some of the eggs are rocking and rolling, no peeping noises and no pipping yet. The gauges on this incubator are horrible so I'm using a thermometer at egg level but still going by the humidity gauge on the incubator...which I have it up to 75%. I have 2 questions, is this humidity level okay at day 20? and #2-on this incubator, the heating elements run across the inside top. One is slightly bent so it is lower than the other. Do you think that when a chick hatches, I will have to worry about it stretching up it's neck and getting burnt on the elements? I touched one accidentally with my hand and it burned bad. The lower of the two hangs approx. 3 inches above the base the eggs sit on. I just have no idea what to expect, are chicks extremely active right away and will be jumping around or climbing on the other eggs? If so, there is a good chance they will be burned by this contraption :(

Eggs have started pipping early this morning after my post. I have 4 with holes. It's now 10 hours later and they have not enlarged the holes. should I be worrying yet?

Congratulations !!!!