Salmonella Outbreak From Baby Chicks

Can it happen? Yeah. Am I concerned? Not really. Good animal husbandry combined with common sense helps a lot. 39 people sickened out of how many hundreds or thousands that handle chicks? You probably have greater odds of being struck by lightning or winning the lottery.

We wash hands but i admit I still worry. What if my son touches the chickens, then touches his pants or the doorknob or whatever, then washes, then touches those surfaces again? Is that a big risk or am I being a worrywart?

I'm new to chickens but not new to farm animals. Even our dogs and cats pose a threat to our children with the number of parasites in those common pets. Young children should be supervised and if they are not able to follow reasonable sanitation rules, they may not be ready for such a pet. Pet turtles are banned because so many young children were acquiring salmomella from the pet turtles.

The answer may lie with the age of the children and how well they can remember to wash hands after handling pets and before they eat. It's a judgement call. GL

I'm a bit worried about it. I have a two year old that has had crazy diapers for two weeks now. We've had the chicks 2 1/2 weeks.

She had two days of bad diarrhea and cramping, but now just very loose stools with no other symptoms.

We wash hands like crazy after every chick visit, but she's two. She blows them kisses, sticks her fingers in her mouth....

I keep hand sanitizer by the brooder to use before we even head to the sink to wash hands. I am still concerned though. I have a 2 year old as well who scales the baby gate and loves to come back and tell me how gentle she was by touching them with one finger!
ep.gif