Urgent Advice Needed

Hen Help

In the Brooder
Apr 30, 2023
Our one year old poodle unlocked the back door while we were out and attacked one of our chickens. I guess he was trying to play because he didn't actually kill her. The neighbors called us and we quickly came home. We found the dog sitting by the front door and our hen in the driveway.
Our hen is in bad shape. I have no experience and am wondering if she even can even be be saved.
It is Sunday and we live way out in the country far from any resources and I'm not sure what we should do. I was thinking she should be put down but then as I removed her from the sink she started trying to flap her wings. Skin has been torn off near the neck and between the wings.
I cut off skin and feathers that was hanging off her neck and tried to apply antibiotic ointment.
DO we try to find a vet or is this just a lost cause. Am I just prolonging her suffering?
I attach a pictures. Any advise would be appreciated. I have zero experience with this sort of thing and need some sage advise from a calmer and more knowledgable person Thank You

Attachments

• Photo on 2023-04-30 at 1.35 PM.jpg
    Photo on 2023-04-30 at 1.35 PM.jpg
    330.1 KB · Views: 113
  • Photo on 2023-04-30 at 1.35 PM #3.jpg
    Photo on 2023-04-30 at 1.35 PM #3.jpg
    377.5 KB · Views: 6
I can't tell from the pictures. Is there a chunk of flesh missing or is it just skin?
If it's just skin you could give her pain meds, clean it really well, and put on some New Skin. If it's a hole I would put her down.

Skin is torn off and there is a part that looks like chicken breast from the supermarket. It's totally exposed. When I decided to take her to the neighbor to kill, she started to flap her wings to escape as I was walking out the door, so I brought her back in and put her in the sink again. I don't know what to do. her eyes are closed and she is shaking. She is in shock.