2 week old chicks trying to fly out of brooder

madison528

In the Brooder
Jul 26, 2022
Murrieta, California
I’m new to raising baby chicks.
I have a couple 2 week old chicks who are desperately trying to fly out of the brooder they’re in. They’re inside in a 27 gallon tote with all the things they need but just wondering if this is
image.jpg
normal? Every time I open the top of the brooder to clean it they’re trying to fly out. When I’m in the room with them they’re trying to fly out even with the top on the brooder, which makes them hit the top of the lid. I’m just afraid of a broken wing. I know I need a come on top of the brooder plate which I’m sure will help but any advice and/or suggestions to help this TIA!

As I took this photo one of them flew up and hit the lid

I don't think they see the HC. I have them try to escape all the time...LOL.... but I've never had them hit the lid. I use a wire shelf on the top, but to be honest, its more to keep out curious kitties. What breed are they? I would move to a larger brooder. That one looks a wee bit small.

It does look rather shallow from your picture.

They’re inside in a 27 gallon tote with all the things they need b
One possibility.. They're bored and need enrichment.. bring in a clump of dirt with grass still attached or some other new objects to peck at and inspect.

My chicks are usually real happy to scratch through even standard shavings.. pecking around and looking for stuff (even eating very small fragments).. But they are not usually still on paper towels at 2 weeks old.

ETA: Also trying to fly out is very common. They may even just be trying to roost on the side.. roosting bars are always good fun.

I don't think they see the HC. I have them try to escape all the time...LOL.... but I've never had them hit the lid. I use a wire shelf on the top, but to be honest, its more to keep out curious kitties. What breed are they? I would move to a larger brooder. That one looks a wee bit small.