All my sweet birds are gone. What to do?

yickenscarf23

Songster
Oct 24, 2018
Indiana
This morning I woke up to a pack of big husky looking mixes and pitbulls chasing my horses. I ran outside to see that they had already torn the entire side off of my chicken coop that we had thought we built so securely (my fiance is a builder by profession). All of my ladies, my ducklings, and my sweet rooster were dead. I asked around and found out who the dogs belonged to and paid them a visit. Sure enough the dogs were all loose in their yard with blood & feathers visible on the Huskies. The owners were young boys in their 20s and did not seem to care AT ALL. Not an "I'm sorry". NOTHING. I asked if the dogs could be kept on a chain or indoors and explained that my neighbors and family have very small children and the dogs seemed dangerous. The owners just walked inside.

I called animal control and the police and both came. They, too, did not seem to care. They said the blood & feathers werent really evidence and that I needed photos of the dogs attacking. We borrowed some trail cams and put them up in case they come back.

I'm at a loss. This pack of dogs is terrorizing the neighborhood. I warned all the neighbors not to let the small kids get off the bus alone. And I miss my little birds so much. I want to rebuild but how the hell does a dog rip the side off a shed?

Anyway I'm just venting. It's been a terrible day and I'm out of tears.

So sorry!
If you want to rebuild, electric fence would keep them out.

Maybe you could set up a pen with some kind of bait inside, a dead bird or something, and film them getting into it? At least prove that they're causing you trouble. Or film them bothering your other livestock.