I believe I have a hermaphrodite chicken

Pics

CityFarmerRob

Songster
Aug 25, 2023
I've been keeping birds for almost 2 years which is not a long time but I incubated some eggs to see what would happen what long story short I gave several chickens and I believed by texting them when they were young around 5 weeks 6 weeks that they were female and these had been pulled from a lot earlier that I had tried to sex which we all know is difficult. Well the bird was returned to me because it turned out to be a rooster and so I put it by itself and that's where it's been for the last two weeks well this morning the old nesting box it decided to perch in and poop in had an egg in it and even though there's hens around the coop and in other areas there is not one able to get in there he has been absolutely alone. I know it's rare they say about 1 in 10,000 and it's much more likely to be looked at as a hoax than an actuality but I walked out today and that's what I found.
16929854083802338520590894803787.jpg

That wire mesh has really big openings. Could a hen have squeezed in? Mine have surprised me by squeezing through small openings.
No I considered that for a brief second but all my hens are locked up and the wire around them is hardware cloth so it's half inch square. The only other birds that can get in there and I have seen them in there are sparrows. Now if a sparrow lay this egg I should have seen exploded Sparrow all over the place because it's regular size egg.

This thread has been cleaned up & unlocked.

Going forward, we kindly ask that people who are not willing to contribute positively to the conversation refrain from doing so. BYC aims to uphold an environment that is welcoming, supportive, inclusive, safe, and respectful towards all members.

We appreciate your cooperation, thank you for your understanding.

Wow, it does seem like you specialize in the exotic & unusual!