Leghorn Layers

RTsFFF

In the Brooder
Jan 3, 2019
West Palm Beach, FL
I have been raising White Leghorns for a couple years now and they are by far my most frequent and prolific layers, dropping eggs almost every day and at least 25% larger than my next closest (Rhode Island Reds). So I'm about to add more Leghorns into the flock for that great production. My question is on colors. I am thinking of getting some Buff or Brown Leghorns, but not sure if they are as good of layers as the Whites just because of how good mine have been so far. Does anyone raise multiple colors and if so, do you see any difference in egg production?

I have been raising White Leghorns for a couple years now and they are by far my most frequent and prolific layers, dropping eggs almost every day and at least 25% larger than my next closest (Rhode Island Reds). So I'm about to add more Leghorns into the flock for that great production. My question is on colors. I am thinking of getting some Buff or Brown Leghorns, but not sure if they are as good of layers as the Whites just because of how good mine have been so far. Does anyone raise multiple colors and if so, do you see any difference in egg production?
I asked the feed store, chicken person that very question, she said they would not. I didn’t get them, this is hear say. Someone eles should chime in.

It depends on the line they're from.
Nothing can touch a true production type of white leghorn.
If you're just talking run of the mill hatchery type leghorns then the light browns come pretty close in amount and size.
Everything else including buffs can't compete. They all lay smaller eggs and won't lay 6 or 7 eggs a week.
Show line leghorns usually won't lay half what a good production white will.