PHOTO - POORLY LEG

DrVix2021

Chirping
Jun 23, 2021
Hi there,

One of my ducks is limping, I’ve examined her… attempted to apply my skills as a doctor unsuccessfully!! The only thing I can see but I don’t know whether is something to worry about is perhaps she’s stood on something. I’ve attacked photo of right and left foot for comparison. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 120A5D2B-159F-48DB-A881-37D8012EED76.jpeg
    120A5D2B-159F-48DB-A881-37D8012EED76.jpeg
    393.9 KB · Views: 11
  • 0D7AE8E1-EB02-4499-A27C-FEC656360989.jpeg
    0D7AE8E1-EB02-4499-A27C-FEC656360989.jpeg
    353.3 KB · Views: 5
It could be an injury from a thorn or a very early case of bumblefoot? I’m not an expert on duck issues or anything, but that’s just my guess. Don’t take my response too seriously, wait until someone more experienced with foot issues in ducks can help you out.

I agree it's an injury -- could be from a thorn for sure.

It's important to keep it clean and dry so that it doesn't develop into bumble foot.

I would use daily epsom salt soaks and then a non-stick, dry dressing taped on and covered ideally with a duck bootie. If you don't have one, you can use duct tape around the foot and webs to hold the dressing in place.

At this stage it should not need any intervention opening the wound, but if it becomes bigger and especially if it becomes hot and swollen, that would indicate the presence of infection. Then follow the guidance on bumblefoot:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/another-bumblefoot-question.1511600/