Jun 12, 2020
Hello everyone!
I am extremely new to this so I need all the help I can get. My boyfriend and I recently moved to a farm owned by my boyfriends parents. They have a coop with chickens and ducks. We have been slowly learning how to take care of them (a man who took care of the land was in charge before).

Last night I walked to the coop only to find that our drake was attacking a hen. I managed to move him away and took her to our house.
There was blood all over her head. All the feathers under her right wing were missing. Her right finger was broken. And she was not moving her left leg at all. She was not moving at all generally, but she was still breathing.
I cleaned her wounds. Added an antibiotic spray to the cleaned wounds that we had used for our injured dog. Gave her some water through a syringe. Her eyes were also closed and she was breathing through her mouth.

24 hours later:
She is still alive and warm. She pooped once. I am feeding her through a syringe and keeping her hydrated. She isn’t moving her left leg at all. Her right leg is fine, she is using it to try and stand up. She keeps breathing from her mouth. Above all her neck concerns me. She isn’t straightening it, she can’t look straight forward. She opened her eyes a little and she can see still see in both thank God.

I attached some pictures, any advice would be so appreciated.
The 5th picture is of her neck and how it’s bent.
The 6th picture is of the feathers plucked under her wing.

Thank you!
3BDFF73E-E441-4EF4-8AC2-2BAEA28D6B7D.jpeg 6DBED74A-A2CD-4589-BB26-02A691014103.jpeg 15423D20-B6C9-4E24-96F4-A3D698E79951.jpeg 4CCB4D44-8506-4B43-937F-924C71203322.jpeg 7CF85299-2FCD-4368-A550-DDABC36E6C38.jpeg 0E625C0C-DF13-4AD1-BE5F-1AB737EDE2EE.jpeg 7E1B0B96-2AB1-41B8-941C-D435275349E3.jpeg

When flooded by hormones drakes often go crazy and even abuse their own mate(e) until they are left with their heads all bloody and hardly able to stand or walk.