When did your chicken start laying?

When did your chickens start laying?

• Total voters

reddpepper86

Songster
Mar 18, 2016
Oregon Coast
I know this question has probably been asked a gazillion times over, but I'm curious when everyone's chickens started laying? This is my first time chicken keeping. I have 5 birds, all 18 weeks. 1 Red SL, 1 RIR, 1 GLW, and 2 Ameracaunas. If you have one of these breeds I'd love to know when yours started laying! Thanks so much everyone!

I've had chickens start anywhere between 19 and 30 weeks.
Of the breeds you have and the 30 plus breeds I've raised, I've only had Wyandottes and Ameraucanas.
I think both were at about 23 weeks.
That said, the time of year (day length declining vs. increasing) will dramatically change when the first egg arrives regardless of breed.
Your days are already about 10 minutes longer than the winter solstice so you may expect those breeds to start in the next 3 weeks or so.
Combs and wattles will become larger and brighter red as POL approaches. Check the distance between the two pointy pelvic bones. If it is less than two finger width, they aren't ready. When it widens, eggs should be forthcoming soon.

Last edited:
Last year I had some chicks hatch in Aug. They didn't start laying until late Feb and Mar. They need those longer hours of daylight to get into the mood to lay. When I've had spring hatched chickens they have started as early as 20 weeks and as late as 11 months old with most starting between 20 and 25 weeks.

How much does weather effect the egg laying? Our chickens are just about 20 weeks, but it has been negative temps and snowing constantly.... I hear that can slow the production.... Any thoughts?