Will my chickens ever lay?

chicnewbie6

Hatching
5 Years
Dec 1, 2014
Stafford, Virginia
So I am new to having chickens ( My husband is not but I want this to be mainly my thing..lol)

My sister ( who never wants anything to do with the outdoors) got 6 chics the beginning of last spring. I think she thought it would be fun for my younger niece and nephew. But as the chicken grew bigger the fun went away and when they got no eggs she realized she didnt want them anymore. She nor my brother in law never really cared for the chickens, they would go several days without feed or water. and slept in a VERY small cage all crampped together. There was maybe 2 square feet of run for them.

So I convienced her to sell me her 6 hens. My husband and I spent all weekend building a very nice coop and a really big run. There are 6 nesting boxes, 2 perches and plently of laying feed and water for them.

So my question is, Any idea when I can expect them to start laying? Is there any feed better than the other that I can feed them? Right now I cam feeding them Dumor chicken laying crumble.

Any advice will be greatly appericated.

Thanks

My oldest two are 23 weeks old today and have not yet laid. I am in Maryland, so my daylight is pretty similar to yours. As it is moving into winter, if I get any eggs, I will be pleased, but I am not expecting things to get rolling until spring.

I think the advice given is sound. Feed them well and make them comfortable, and they will eventually do what they were born to do.

Happy trails!

If they were starving, then they're malnourished, and they won't lay until they become healthy again. Also, they are going through an adjustment period getting used to new living quarters. That delays laying. And last, but not least, if you're in the northern hemisphere, daylight is in short supply so they won't lay until the days get longer again.