Chicken Breed Focus Project

sumi

Égalité
Staff member
Premium member
8 Years
Jun 28, 2011
39,141
24,821
1,252
Tipperary, Ireland
Hi everyone, we have decided to feature and spotlight some of the amazing chicken breeds our members are keeping and working with. From now on every week on Thursday, we are going to start a new feature thread on a different breed, which will be our "breed focus of the week".

If anyone would like to contribute in any way to this project, have suggestions, or feedback, please send a PM to me or @Kelsie2290

For quick reference, links to new breed focus threads will be added to the second post of this thread as and when we start them.
 
Last edited:

sumi

Égalité
Staff member
Premium member
8 Years
Jun 28, 2011
39,141
24,821
1,252
Tipperary, Ireland
Ameraucana: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/975512/chicken-breed-focus-ameraucana/0_30

Cochin: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/977805/chicken-breed-focus-cochin/0_30

Welsummer: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/980204/chicken-breed-focus-welsummer/0_30

Plymouth Rock: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/982643/chicken-breed-focus-plymouth-rock/0_30

Iowa Blue: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/986073/chicken-breed-focus-iowa-blue/0_30

Australorp: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/988347/chicken-breed-focus-australorp/0_30

Maline: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/990483/chicken-breed-focus-maline/0_30

Brahma: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/992485/chicken-breed-focus-brahma/0_30

Dorking: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/994592/chicken-breed-focus-dorking/0_30

White Face Black Spanish: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/999535/chicken-breed-focus-white-face-black-spanish/0_30

Rosecomb: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1001843/chicken-breed-focus-rosecomb-bantam/0_30

Langshan: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1005834/chicken-breed-focus-langshan/0_30

Jersey Giant: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1007948/chicken-breed-focus-jersey-giant/0_30

Derbyshire Redcap: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1009835/chicken-breed-focus-derbyshire-redcap/0_30

Faverolles: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1011648/chicken-breed-focus-faverolles/0_30

Appenzeller Spitzhauben: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1013428/chicken-breed-focus-appenzeller-spitzhauben/0_30

Sultan: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1015131/chicken-breed-focus-sultan/0_30

Sebright: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1016745/chicken-breed-focus-sebright/0_30

Buckeye: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1018336/chicken-breed-focus-buckeye/0_30

Isbar: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1019939/chicken-breed-focus-isbar-blue-isbar/0_30

Rhode Island Red: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1021447/chicken-breed-focus-rhode-island-red/0_30

Holland: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1022794/chicken-breed-focus-holland/0_30

New Hampshire: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1024180/chicken-breed-focus-new-hampshire/0_30

Hedemora: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1035495/chicken-breed-focus-hedemora/0_30

Dutch Bantam: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1036794/chicken-breed-focus-dutch-bantam/0_30

Rhodebar: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1038085/chicken-breed-focus-rhodebar/0_30

Silkie: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1048544/chicken-breed-focus-silkie/0_30

Asil: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1051581/chicken-breed-focus-aseel-asil/0_30

Nankin: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1052799/chicken-breed-focus-nankin/0_30

Hamburg: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1053788/chicken-breed-focus-hamburg/0_30

Cubalaya: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1063950/chicken-breed-focus-cubalaya/0_30

Andalusian: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1065043/chicken-breed-focus-blue-andalusian/0_30

Japanese Bantam: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1069100/chicken-breed-focus-japanese-bantam/0_30

Bielefelder: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1069851/chicken-breed-focus-bielefelder/0_30

Russian Orloff: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1070895/chicken-breed-focus-russian-orloff/0_30

Ayam Cemani: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1072107/chicken-breed-focus-ayam-cemani/0_30

Showgirl: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1073376/chicken-breed-focus-showgirl/0_30

Marsh Daisy: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1075008/chicken-breed-focus-marsh-daisy/0_30

Chantecler: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1076088/chicken-breed-focus-chantecler/0_30

Campine: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1077842/chicken-breed-focus-campine/0_30

Blue Hen of Delaware: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1081006/chicken-breed-focus-blue-hen-of-delaware/0_30

Colloncas: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1082166/chicken-breed-focus-colloncas/0_30

Icelandic: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1083508/chicken-breed-focus-icelandic/0_30

Kraienköppe: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1085143/chicken-breed-focus-kraienk-ppe/0_30

Orpington: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1088559/chicken-breed-focus-orpington/0_30

Old English Game: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1090396/chicken-breed-focus-old-english-game/0_30

Barnevelder: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1092477/chicken-breed-focus-barnevelder/0_30

d'Uccle: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1094646/chicken-breed-focus-duccle-bantams/0_30

Java: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1096818/chicken-breed-focus-java/0_30

Brabanter: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1100952/chicken-breed-focus-brabanter/0_30

Dominique: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1103078/chicken-breed-focus-dominique/0_30

Polish: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1098899/chicken-breed-focus-polish/0_30

La Flèche: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1105088/chicken-breed-focus-la-fl-che/0_30

Phoenix: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1107214/chicken-breed-focus-phoenix/0_30

Crevecoeur: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1109059/chicken-breed-focus-crevecoeur/0_30

Serama: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1110870/chicken-breed-focus-serama/0_30

Yokohama: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1112745/chicken-breed-focus-yokohama/0_30

Houdan: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1114505/chicken-breed-focus-houdan/0_30

Lakenvelder: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1116268/chicken-breed-focus-lakenvelder/0_30

Vorwerk: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1118078/chicken-breed-focus-vorwerk/0_30

Brakel: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1119709/chicken-breed-focus-brakel/0_30

Sicillian Buttercup: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1137582/chicken-breed-focus-sicillian-buttercup/0_30

Pyncheon: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1121378/chicken-breed-focus-pyncheon/0_30

Sulmtaler: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1122883/chicken-breed-focus-sulmtaler/0_30

Norwegian Jaerhon: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1124478/chicken-breed-focus-norwegian-jaerhon/0_30

Araucana: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1126008/chicken-breed-focus-araucana/0_30

Olandsk Dwarfs: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1127278/chicken-breed-focus-olandsk-dwarfs/0_30

Manx Rumpy: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1128602/chicken-breed-focus-manx-rumpy/0_30

Erminette: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1129899/chicken-breed-focus-erminette/0_30

Delaware: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1131094/chicken-breed-focus-delaware/0_30

Maran: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1132230/chicken-breed-focus-maran/0_30

Minorca: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1133349/chicken-breed-focus-minorca/0_30

Scots Dumpy: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1134508/chicken-breed-focus-scots-dumpy/0_30

Wyandotte: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1135563/chicken-breed-focus-wyandotte/0_30

Norfolk Grey: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1136591/chicken-breed-focus-norfolk-grey/0_30

Ohiki: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1138529/chicken-breed-focus-ohiki/0_30

Cornish: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1142033/chicken-breed-focus-cornish/0_30

Modern Game Bantam: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1142840/chicken-breed-focus-modern-game-bantam/0_30

Sumatra: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1143674/chicken-breed-focus-sumatra/0_30

Leghorn: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1152504/chicken-breed-focus-leghorn/0_30

Sussex: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1154699/chicken-breed-focus-sussex/0_30

Catalana: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1155954/chicken-breed-focus-catalana/0_30

d'Anvers Bantam: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1157315/chicken-breed-focus-danvers-bantams/0_30

Swedish Flower Chicken: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1158821/chicken-breed-focus-swedish-flower-hen/0_30

Euskal Oiloa: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1160391/chicken-breed-focus-euskal-oiloa-marraduna-basque/0_30

Fayoumi: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1162100/chicken-breed-focus-fayoumi/0_30

Legbar: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1163832/chicken-breed-focus-legbar/0_30
 
Last edited:

Rancher3535

Songster
7 Years
Oct 1, 2012
382
87
136
Idaho, Kuna
Here is a breed that really needs attention.


There are several breeds that we are about to lose because they have gone to the way side of the poultry industry and hobbyist. I am very concerned about the RC Rhode Island White breed. For the last three years I have only found about 1000 adult breeder birds if that. Duane Urch and Sandhill Preservation have a few as far as I know as a hatchery goes but individual breeds are about gone.

Commercial hatcheries say they have them…hum a Rhode Island White according to the originator of the breed and APA say they are supposed to be Rose Comb not Single Comb. The hybrids that they commercial hatcheries have are not really a true Rhode Island White in my opinion…sorry boys if you disagree but again the originator of the breed made them RC not SC.

The Rose Comb Rhode Island White although largely outshined by their popular cousins, the Rhode Island Red, the only real connection of the two is the body type and that they both were developed in the state of Rhode Island.

The beginning of the Rhode Island White breed began in Peacedale, Rhode Island, in 1888 by J. Alonzo Jocoy. He developed the breed by crossing a White Wyandotte with Partridge Cochin and Rose Comb White Leghorn. The breed developed and changed over time until its body resembled that of the Rhode Island Red but in a stark white color. The breed was admitted to the American Poultry Association’s Standard of Perfection in 1922. They were somewhat popular until the 1950’s and slowly faded. According to the Livestock Conservancy there were about 3000 Rhode Island Whites in existence at the time they took a survey of breeds in 2003, the ALBC Poultry Census. My recent research show that we have less than 1000 of them but it is not an official count on RC Rhode Island White breed today. There are several small individual flocks with limited numbers. We really need to work on this breed and bring them back to the numbers and quality that they used to be in 1920-1950.

This breed is in need of major help. Here are a few pictures of the few that I have.

Original female from Frank Reese in KS


a few of my line of them...



These are truly a dual purpose bird in that they are great layers and great meat birds. Last years carcasses came in at an average of 5 pounds at 28-30 weeks.
 
Top Bottom