do ya all use a gard dog to keep watch over your chickens

countryboy1988

Hatching
10 Years
Sep 20, 2009
aiken south carolina
hi i am new to the whole chicken raiseing thing i hear many a story about coons killing chickens well her is my ? do any of you use a dog to help keep your chickens safe i am thinking about useing my treeing feist squirrel and coon dog to help me keep watch over them which i tink will work any one easle use a dog to watch over your chickens if so what breed thanks

No, But that sounds like a good Idea
smile.png

Raccoons are most generally an issue at night, at which point your chickens should be fast asleep in their well-locked coop. A dog never hurts for back-up however, ours do a great job of deterring varmint from entering the area immediate to the house -- but you'll still occasionally get a very persistent predator that comes in anyway so make sure any dog you expect to guard is utd on vaccinations.

I do! He is a Golden Retreiver Chow mix. He has the coloring of a rottweiler or doberman somehow but has the body and longer hair like a Golden Retreiver. His name is Bear and he is the friendliest thing around. He loves the chickens! One day I came home to find him in his dog house sleeping with my three young silkie roos! It was sooo cute! He chases and barks at anything thats comes near the chickens pen. Hes the best!

I know someone who kept loosing chickens to 'night' killers. So they re-built their chicken yard and then built another fence about 4 feet out around that.

During the day the chickens free range. At night the chickens are locked up and then they put their dogs from the backyard into the pen that surrounds the chicken pen. Next morning dogs return to backyard and the chickens are let out to do their thing.

No more chickens lost.
big_smile.png